Cooking

chocolate protein banana coconut baked oatmeal

FullSizeRender (2)
Glorious, glorious baked oatmeal!

I know, I know, this recipe title is eight hundred (read: six) words long. Forgive me, bloggers, for I have sinned.

I used to be a devoted recipe follower, mostly because I got my start in baking. Failure to follow the ingredients list resulted in one very sad red velvet cake early in my baking career. Cooking allowed me more flexibility, but I was still cautious for the same reason I’m hesitant to try brand new foods at a restaurant: if I mess up, it’s time and money wasted. I would rather stick to tried and tested methods and get good food each time. I envy kitchen alchemists who just know what ingredients and portions will taste great together.

Cut to my weekly meal prep, when I decided that I wanted more protein and fat in my morning baked oatmeal. (I typically eat breakfast early and lunch late in the day, so I’m always starving by lunchtime.) Also, it would be nice to find a use for some of that protein powder that’s been sitting untouched on my kitchen counter. I pulled up Budget Bytes’ banana coconut baked oatmeal recipe, which uses shredded coconut and coconut milk, for the “more fat” requirement. Then I searched for a protein baked oatmeal recipe and at last stumbled upon this plain but promising recipe.

And then, ladies and gentlemen, I combined the two recipes.

Using water for the baked oatmeal defeated the “more fat” premise, so I whisked three scoops of Optimum Nutrition Extreme Chocolate Milk and a can of unsweetened coconut milk together. I whisked in the bananas, two eggs, mashed bananas from my freezer, salt, and baking powder. I stirred in the oats and shredded coconut, then poured the mixture into a baking dish. Well, I thought as I slid it into the oven, it smells good, at least.

The oatmeal smelled good baking in the oven, and it smelled good as I sliced it to portion it out for the week. I sampled a small piece (of course) and found it mild, sweet, and filling. Success! I invented my own recipe! Or at least successfully combined two! Granted, I did forget to preheat the oven, but baby steps.

CHOCOLATE PROTEIN BANANA COCONUT BAKED OATMEAL

Yields 8-10 servings *

Ingredients:

  • 3 mashed ripe bananas **
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 scoops of chocolate-flavored protein powder
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract ***
  • ½ tsp nutmeg ***
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ⅓ cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 (13.5 oz) can unsweetened coconut milk
  • 3 cups rolled oats

* I slice my oatmeal into 10 pieces, since that’s weekday breakfast for two people. Also, I’m 5’1” and the boyfriend eats small portions. Other people probably need/want a larger breakfast!

** I used two bananas in my baked oatmeal. While it was by no means dry, I like mine a little more moist and cakelike, so next time I’ll up it to 3 bananas. A sub for even more protein: 1.5 cups of Greek yogurt!

*** I did not think to add these in and I have capital-r Regrets.

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Coat the inside of a baking dish with nonstick spray.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the protein powder and the coconut milk until smooth. Whisk in the eggs, mashed bananas, vanilla, nutmeg, baking powder, salt, and shredded coconut until completely combined. Add the oats and stir with a spoon until combined.
  3. Pour the oatmeal mixture into the prepared baking dish and baked, uncovered, for 40-45 minutes. Serve warm or refrigerate until ready to eat.

Leave a comment